(Topic ID: 253356)

DE Attract Mode Buzz - Could this be the culprit?

By jimgravina

4 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by stoptap
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

5FBA45A5-CB32-49B3-9143-ED1DA6FAAF74 (resized).jpeg
4175AFD9-0265-4742-9FBA-2A14CFF66AF8 (resized).jpeg
#1 4 years ago

Going to start by saying I just got into all this pinball stuff about a month ago (and have learned a lot from everyone here). With that being said, I’m pretty new to all this troubleshooting stuff so forgive me ignorance on some of this stuff.

While trying to fix the 60hz hum and the attract mode buzz coming from the speakers, I had removed the sound board completely. After firing up the game I could still hear the attract mode buzz (though very faint).

After listening closely to the MPU board I realized the buzz was coming directly from the “flipper board relay RY1.” I put a microphone directly to the component and the buzz is definitely coming from there.

For whatever reason, the attract mode light show signal is being picked up by this relay, and then amplified by the speakers.

Is the relay bad? Could a replacement relay solve this? Is something not filtering correctly? How or why would a flipper board component pick this up in the first place?
4175AFD9-0265-4742-9FBA-2A14CFF66AF8 (resized).jpeg4175AFD9-0265-4742-9FBA-2A14CFF66AF8 (resized).jpeg

#2 4 years ago

Idk, what's the torroid next to the relay?

#3 4 years ago
Quoted from Zitt:

Idk, what's the torroid next to the relay?

If it's the same part (red-wired donut held to board with hot glue) that's on my DE Simpsons, it's an "inductor", whatever that is:
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/fs-data-east-simpsons-300-seaford-long-island-ny#post-1728911

#4 4 years ago

My MPU schematics is saying it’s a “lamp B+ filter”