• 4 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by pudealee
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to the forums, so I first want to say hello. I am new to pinball repair, and I have a couple questions regarding my Data East Star Wars pinball machine that I hope someone would be able to answer for me.

After transporting the machine and plugging it back in, the DMD will display version information, but then goes black at the point where the Tie Fighter flies back and forth for the skill shot. I still get sound, but no display beyond the initial configuration screen.I was able to reach in from the back with the backglass folded down and re-seat a couple cables that seemed loose on the board, but that didn't fix the issue. I am suspecting another loose cable that will require me to open the back glass panel in order to access it. This is my first time doing this, and I am having difficulty getting it open. I used the key to open it, but when I try to push up and pull out the glass and artwork they get caught on the black plastic piece around the DMD. Is this piece supposed to come out first, or should I be able to lift the glass and artwork enough to clear that black piece and remove it? I just don't want to bust the black plastic piece around the DMD if it isn't supposed to come out.

So all of that to basically ask:

#1 Do you think that it might just be a loose cable causing the issue with the display?

#2 Any tips on removing the blackglass and whether or not the black plastic piece around the DMD needs to be removed first? All the videos I watched didn't show the black piece being removed which is why I'm concerned that I am having troubles with this.

Thank you for any help you can provide! I greatly appreciate it!

#2 9 years ago