• 7 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by Billc479
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

Hello,
I'm looking for some advice or tutorial on how to put new drop targets in a 1989 Data East. There are two three bank drop target mechanisms with only one target being broken . I just ordered all six targets thinking I might as well replace them all. It looks like it could be a simple job but I'm still a noob with anything other than changing bulbs. Thanks in advance for any info .

#2 3 years ago

My best advice is to pull the assembly from your machine so you can work on it at the bench.
Most people say that just cleaning it up and replacing the drops will work wonders.
I haven't done it to my DE Star trek; but, "one of these days"

#3 3 years ago

Thanks. I've seen a post that says it's only 4 screws and de-solder the coil wires to remove assembly but after that I'm just not sure what to do. I figured someone would have a step by step process for at least changing out the targets but I haven't seen it here or on Youtube.

#4 3 years ago

As Zitt said, pull the assembly. Flip the targets down and push the lift bar to push them back up; watch how the assembly works and you’ll see it’s super simple to replace the targets.

And again per Zitt, you’ll definitely want to clean it, especially if someone previously used a lubricant on it.

If memory serves, replacing the targets on the DE assembly just involves removing the target retaining bracket which runs across the lower front(?) and then removing the spring from each target, then they slip right out. I found it handy to have a hooked pick to reinstall the new springs.

#5 3 years ago

I rarely see a step by step guide unless vid1900 did one.
Feel free to create one, im sure someone would need it after you.

#6 3 years ago

Thanks Zitt and Blackjacker.