Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

screen (resized).jpg
newton (resized).jpg
20170430_134140 (resized).jpg
20170430_134130 (resized).jpg
20170415_124920 (resized).jpg
#1 7 years ago

I recently applied a Makrolon playfield protector to my new repro playfield. At first, I saw a single spot where the makrolon touches the playfield, almost like a drop of water was squished between them. I was hoping it would dry out eventually.

It did not, instead when I started playing the game, it looks like its spreading. Probably the single spot is splitting itself into smaller spots.

Probably the best way to fix it is to remove the protector completely and have it dry (again) and re-apply. It would require me to deconstruct a large part of the playfield, with the risk of damaging things, so I am reluctant to do that.

Would anyone have a trick for me to try to remove the moist from underneath the protector? Would placing a moisture absorber in the cabinet help? I also considered sliding a ruler with a cloth around it in from the bottom of the playfield, as this would only require me to remove the apron.

#2 7 years ago

I removed the apron and the flippers, then maneuvered a cloth under the protector, so it can "breathe". Then I put a bag of moisture absorber on the corner. "Sealing" it off with the glass and let it sit for a day or so. Let's see tomorrow!

Well, this should do it!Well, this should do it!

#3 7 years ago

I'd blow a fan up in there.

#4 7 years ago
Quoted from John_I:

I'd blow a fan up in there.

Thanks! If this does not work, I will see if I can borrow one

#5 7 years ago

I don't see the need to put a protector over a cc'd pf. Why are you doing this?

#6 7 years ago
Quoted from Jjsmooth:

I don't see the need to put a protector over a cc'd pf. Why are you doing this?