(Topic ID: 320703)

Credit Card via PayPal

By SFBP36

1 year ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 1 year ago

Has anyone sold a pin and had the buyer pay with a credit card via PayPal? A potential buyer offered to do this but I have very little experience with PayPal. I told him cash on the glass and he said he’s short due to other expenses he has, but could buy it on credit. Scam?

Any fees associated with something like this? Would he have some sort of buyer protection where he could pay, take the pin, then get the money back?

Thanks all.

#2 1 year ago

Yes you could get scammed that way, don't chance it.

#4 1 year ago

Any transaction with a credit card can be reversed, even if done through Paypal. Avoid it for a high amount like this.

#5 1 year ago

RUN. AWAY. NOW.

#6 1 year ago

PayPal is going to side with a buyer 95% of the time even in non credit card cases. I would (and do) stay away from PayPal in general. Cash on the glass all day every day.

#7 1 year ago

PayPal sucks !

#8 1 year ago

DONE. Thanks all for affirming my hunch.

#9 1 year ago
    Quoted from SFBP36:

he said he’s short due to other expenses he has, but could buy it on credit. Scam?

Tell him go get a cash advance on his credit card and give you the cash. He won’t, because it’s a scam.

There is zero reason for you to be involved in his credit transaction.

#10 1 year ago

Hard pass.

Cash or no deal.

#11 1 year ago

I had a buyer do exactly that; solder pin and he paid with Paypal, then several months later claimed unauthorized purchase and Paypal did a charge back on his credit card and took my payment away. I will NEVER accept Paypal for a purchase again.

#12 1 year ago
    Quoted from JethroP: