• Latest reply 2 years ago by newpinbin
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

d3204c4c3c2448101e5ab13a4efaad2b.jpg
#1 8 years ago

I have always been told that if you cradle the ball with your flipper, you will burn up your coil from keeping it energized! While I suspect this is false, I wanted to get some experts advice on it!

#2 8 years ago

Sterns I have blown fried the diode on the power driver board twice. (LOTR and METLE) I think that's what it was. It was a cheap part but I did pay someone to solder it for me as I am not good with boards. It was a royal pain and I replaced the fuse and blew it a few times before figuring it out. I recommend NOT cradling for more than a minute or so. Mine fried after about 5 minutes I think.

#3 8 years ago

False. Your end of stroke switch cuts the power to the main windings on the coil when the flipper is all the way up and uses the weaker winding to hold it up till you release it.

#4 8 years ago

Would it be hard on the coil sleeves? The reason I ask is I just rebuilt my flippers and my sleeves are frozen in my coils and I am going to replace them, but trying to figure out why the sleeves would be stuck. This machine was out in the wild for a lot of years, so not sure how it's been treated!

#5 8 years ago
Quoted from Imeh:

False. Your end of stroke switch cuts the power to the main windings on the coil when the flipper is all the way up and uses the weaker winding to hold it up till you release it.

Actually - new sterns pulse the power they are not double windings.

#6 8 years ago
Quoted from pinchamp:

Sterns I have blown fried the diode on the power driver board twice. (LOTR and METLE) I think that's what it was.

Nah, it can just happen. My METLE had that too, definitely wasn't from cradling.

#7 8 years ago
Quoted from henrydwh: