You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_20151019_225201427.jpg
IMG_20151014_211402460.jpg

#1 6 years ago

Hi everyone,

im new to pinside, and infact new to the pinball addiction in general, so ill apologize in advance if my questions seem obvious to the hardened pin-veteran.

im currently working on restoring my second EM machine... the first was a 1975 gottlieb abra cadabra which is now pretty much working awesome, the second machine that is still in-process is a 1967 williams derby day. my question is actually about the fat blue spark you typically see on most of the contact points when they are actuated....you see, i come from a vintage motorcycle restoration background, so when i see a fat spark jumping across contact points like that, my immediate reaction is to get a new condenser (capacitor) and put it across the points to soak up that extra voltage, thereby decreasing the spark that jumps the gap and prolonging the life of the points....well, i notice that in both my EM machines they use no caps or condensers on any of the points.....so my question is basically if the sparks im seeing are absolutely normal, and shouldnt be bothered with, or if theyre indicative of dirty contact points (which im sure they all are) or if adding capacitors to the points was simply viewed as unnecessary and/or too costly to bother with during the era of manufacture? im never a big fan of modifying original equipment, but if adding capacitors across the points will prolong the life of the points while not adversely affecting gameplay, i might be persuaded to do it.

again, im still learning the lay of the land with these machines, so bear with me as i cut my teeth, and thanks for your help!

Foose