6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Patofnaud
  • Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 6 years ago

I'm new to Pinside and PB ownership and got my 2nd game "Space Shuttle" a couple weeks ago. I'm changing to LED's for 2 reasons, #1, to brighten up the game and #2, to take the load off the 29 year old lamp board. What confuses me is all the dif. types of LED's, frosted, non frosted, 40, 90, 170 degree, concave, convex, flat top etc. Which of these are best to use for the inserts? Which of these will give me the most color for my $$$ I hope to ask many more dumb questions in the future so be kind and humor me OK guys. Thanks

#2 6 years ago

This is why you should get a sample pack or assortment, try them in different spots, and get what you like.

LTG : )

#3 6 years ago

Our frosted bulbs are bright but noy overwhelming. You can go to. www.pinballbulbs.com and snag a sample pack. Use pinside as the discount code to get 10% off.

#4 6 years ago
    Quoted from LTG:

This is why you should get a sample pack or assortment, try them in different spots, and get what you like.
    LTG : )

That's how I did it. But if you are looking for advice, go will Warm White Frosted with some assorted Frosted colors that match your inserts. I personally don't like changing the Gi's, but with the new Retro LED's, they are a identical match.

Good luck...

#5 6 years ago

Here is a quick breakdown as well.

Concave - a cheaper priced LED and just that, a cheaper LED. These don't give off too much light and tend to have a wider spread. I wouldn't recommend them at all. Maybe in the backbox if you wanted really low light.