Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 19 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 months ago by solarvalue
  • Topic is favorited by 7 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider solarvalue.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 5 years ago

Hi everyone,

So...I am interested in building games for the P3. I know nothing about programming. Let's see how this goes.

I thought I would start a thread here to document my progress. I considered posting something over on the Multimorphic forum, which I may do at a later date, but then decided that it would be useful to have this discussion out in the open here and maybe other Pinsiders might be inspired to start learning how to create games on the P3 as well.

As I said, I'm a complete beginner. I don't expect this to be easy or quick or that I will even succeed in this endeavor but I need to start somewhere, so this is it, the beginning.

So far I have put myself on the P3 pre-order list (it's free to do so). I emailed Gerry of Multimorphic and asked how to get going. He suggested that I get familiar with C# as all of the code for game logic will be done in that language. He also suggested that I download Unity3D and start going thorough some game tutorials. Apparently, Unity3D is a Graphical User Interface (GUI) which allows you to manipulate graphics. When you download Unity3D it also comes with an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) which is a software application used to edit the C# code.

Last night I started downloading Unity3D from their website. It was very easy and I left it to install overnight. This morning it had finished. I started up the program and created an account. It was fun to fill in the survey and to enter "Other>P3" when I was asked what platform I intended to develop games for. Hmm...Maybe I should have written "Multimorphic P3"?