IMG_8848 (resized).jpg
IMG_8846 (resized).jpg
IMG_8844 (resized).jpg
IMG_8845 (resized).jpg
IMG_8841 (resized).jpg
IMG_8842 (resized).jpg
IMG_8843 (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

Working on my first pinball. Cleopatra I would like to lightly clean the playfield to make the game playable again.
I am completely new to this, so I apologize if I don't say the right things or use the right words.
See the attached pictures for reference.

There are clear plastic(mylar??) rings under the pop bumpers that need to be replaced.
It looks like there is old adhesive or something stuck to the playfield under them.
Any thoughts on how to clean this up and what the rings are that I need to purchase.
IMG_8846 (resized).jpgIMG_8846 (resized).jpgIMG_8843 (resized).jpgIMG_8843 (resized).jpgIMG_8845 (resized).jpgIMG_8845 (resized).jpg

There are a couple of half circle pieces of plastic stuck on the playfield over worn spots.
I assume I just leave them be. They are not peeling up at all.
IMG_8842 (resized).jpgIMG_8842 (resized).jpgIMG_8841 (resized).jpgIMG_8841 (resized).jpg

Recommendations for sealing/waxing the playfield.

I was going to try and touch up the paint on the playfield, but I think I am just going to leave it be.

Thanks for any suggestions you could provide.

IMG_8844 (resized).jpgIMG_8844 (resized).jpg
#2 1 year ago

The pop bumper rings were originally floating pieces of mylar. They allow dirt to get trapped under them where it grinds into the playfield. Once you take the pops apart, you will likely find that's not adhesive but whatever ink is left clinging to the underside (very common on Gottlieb games).

Replace with ones that are sticky after you clean the area up.

Unless you do a full restore on the PF it would always look like a PF that you touched up. I'd leave it as is.