3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by RDBowers
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

I am trying to get some specific guidance on how to correctly select fuses. Excuse me if this is newbie stuff, but I am new to pinball maintenance. What I have developed so far is based on the work I have been doing with four Bally and three Gottlieb machines from the mid to late 70's. Pointing out any errors would be appreciated and might save a few machines.

A fuse is designed to be the weakest link in a circuit. When the load on a circuit increases, the fuse is designed to blow before damage is done to a more important, possibly irreplaceable, component like an IC, transistor, transformer, solenoid or relay.

I always start by reading the documentation for the machine. I have come to rely on the schematic drawings as the primary source of info. Additional information in the user manual and other documents is used only to confirm details on the drawings. Typically the drawing will specify the required amps. Based on the circuit it is usually easy to figure out the voltage. Sometimes there will be a notation if a fuse should be slow blow or fast blow.

Selection of a replacement fuse should be based on,
    1. Physical size and package - Choose fuses that are the same size and package. In all cases the fuses I have replaced are glass tube 1/4 x 1-1/4" (6.3 x 32 mm). These are AGC type fuses ("All Glass" with size C being 1/4 x 1-1/4"). I suspect newer or older machines might use different sizes or packages.