(Topic ID: 198905)

Chipped Corner on Playfield Glass - Repair?

By markp99

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by LTG
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

Last night while removing the glass from my AFMr, I dinged the corner on a nearby stool, creating a slight chip with a sharp edge (1/4in diameter, on the corner, but not full glass thickness).

The new defect tucks under the lockdown bar and is fully out of view, but I am pretty certain I will slice my hand one of these days removing the glass for whatever reason.

Can this defect be repaired? I'm thinking maybe fire polishing the sharp edge with my butane plumbers torch. Any issue doing this on tempered playfield glass?

Suggestions?

#2 1 year ago

Unfortunately I have no experience with these sorts of repairs and I'd probably be more concerned about buggering it up more with a plumbers torch. If I were in your shoes, I'd use this as an opportunity to try out some of those fancy invisglass panels

#3 1 year ago
Quoted from markp99:

I dinged the corner on a nearby stool

I try to keep my stools away from my pinball games.

#4 1 year ago

It should be tempered and if it is, could shatter at any moment. If it is not tempered then, it is a accident waiting to happen..

#5 1 year ago

Put a little tape on it and flip it around so it's hidden on top by backbox...or use more tape since if it's under the lockdown bar.

Hopefully there's a show around you where you can pick up a fresh sheet.

#6 1 year ago
Quoted from Out-West:

It should be tempered and if it is, could shatter at any moment. If it is not tempered then, it is a accident waiting to happen..

Pretty sure it's tempered - It's off a brand new AFMr from CGC.

#7 1 year ago

It's certain(t)ly tempered

#8 1 year ago
Quoted from TheLaw: