• Latest reply 1 year ago by pinoobie
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

10 point score reel-schematic (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

This is my first em pinball project and I've hit a roadblock. I am bringing a 1967 Beatniks machine back from the dead. I got it to power up and managed to fix all of the non-working score reels except the 10-90 reels (both player 1 and player 2 will not reset). I have all the other working score reels as a guide, so I don't think I have a switch issue on those reels. The other issue with the machine: None of the 10 point bumpers or 30 point lanes will score properly. If I hit anything that should make the 10-90 score reel activate, they don't move but the 10-90 relay locks on and buzzes. I have a schematic but I am not very good at reading it yet. Any ideas what I can look at next? Thanks!

#2 1 year ago

The 10 point relay will typically lock on until it sees a 10 point score reel end of stroke switch open. Since your score reels aren't moving what you're seeing is the expected behavior. You can test that theory by manually advancing a 10 point score reel while the 10 point relay is locked on. That should cause the relay to release.

A scan of the schematic showing the circuits for both 10 point score reels would help pinpoint where the issue is. For extra credit scan the whole thing and send it to ipdb.org.

/Mark

#3 1 year ago

Thanks, MarkG. I manually advanced the 10 point score reel and the relay released. Is this the part of the schematic you're asking for?

10 point score reel-schematic (resized).jpg
#4 1 year ago

I would start by checking that the white wire that connects to all of the score reel coils actually connects both of the 10 point score reels to the working score reel coils. They're mounted one over the other in the game so it's possible that the white wire has fallen off a solder lug in a way that would disable both 10 point score reels.