(Topic ID: 196782)

Checking MPU blanking circuit on the bench.

By oldschoolbob

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

• Magic Stern Electronics, 1979

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

digit enable (resized).PNG
IMG_3702 a (resized).jpg
IMG_3699 a (resized).jpg
d58c148da81aec7265430b3a2e4cdc3ab2cab97f A (resized).jpg
Screenshot_20170830-223528 (resized).jpg
#1 6 years ago

I’m working on a Stern Magic for a friend. It boots up fine and the voltages are fine but I have no displays. I checked the first display and have 175 volts at TP2 and 5 volts at TP1. I checked PinWiki and it says it might be something in the blanking circuit.

I’m not good at working on a board in the game but I have a pretty good bench tester for 12 and 5 volts. Can I check the blanking circuit on the bench without having the displays connected?

Thanks

Bob

#2 6 years ago

The mpu will not fully boot up with out the 43v for zero crossing interrupt. The displays will never go active on the bench with only 12v and 5v.

Check for activity on the 4502 chip outputs p2, p5, p7 etc. If you don't have a logic probe, the schematic says 2.5vdc typical. It latches the displays and sometimes will completely fail in a manor you get no displays. The display blanking circuit could be failed. u19b, pin 4 should be active. Needs to be in attract mode or better yet display test tho to work.

If the feature lamps work as they should, you can pretty much assume the display latches (except the credit dsp) and binary count data at the PIA level is OK as they share the same PIA ports.

U11 does the digit enable. An MPU causing displays to be blank is usually a latch strobe issue (the 4502 died as mentioned above).

#3 6 years ago
Quoted from barakandl:

If the feature lamps work as they should, you can pretty much assume the display latches (except the credit dsp) and binary count data at the PIA level is OK as they share the same PIA ports.