pasted_image (resized).png
LAH (resized).jpg
LAH2 (resized).png
475F6814-E8A9-4DB3-B77E-DCE67E1908AB (resized).jpeg
There are 231 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 5.
#1 2 years ago

I'm an artist - and artwork is a big factor in what pinball machines I like. However, as you all know, the quality of the artwork on pinball machines has varied wildly from gorgeous to butt ugly (looking at you, Flash and Genesis). Artists don't get paid enough or get valued enough. I thought it'd be fun to hear about artwork you think could have been better, and what you would have done. I'll start with Stern Big Game. These "cards" on the playfield are horrible. I would have used African shields to marry the foliage theme, and possibly sneak in stereotypical big game hunter somewhere in the jungle mix.

Remember, you have to suggest what you think would have been a better solution, so this isn't just another rant thread. Are you game? (get it?)
big game (resized).jpgbig game (resized).jpg

#2 2 years ago
Quoted from MtnFrost: I'll start with Williams Big Game.
[quoted image]

Big Game is not a Williams, it's a Stern.

#3 2 years ago

Yeah, I really don't mind those cards on Big Game.

#4 2 years ago
Quoted from MtnFrost:

I'm an artist...

Annnnd I'm out.

#5 2 years ago

I don't think it's fair to look back on artwork of the 70s/80s and declare "how it should be done differently" from a 2022 mindset.

It was a different time, with different cultural and artistic influences, which resulted in the artistic styles of that time.

A better approach might be to say "if you wanted to retheme this game today, what might you do?”

#6 2 years ago
Quoted from MattElder:

Big Game is not a Williams, it's a Stern.

Just seeing if you were reading! Yep, fixed.

#7 2 years ago