7 months ago

Topic Stats

• 24 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 months ago by Ozone
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Topic Gallery

There have been 9 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

Pinball (resized).png
746326A8-BB77-4D5B-A5D2-DCC3604D56BE (resized).jpeg
4EA4EB97-2DFE-437C-8F1F-4614CCD32EA5 (resized).jpeg
2356AA3C-0A1E-4581-A459-BF522675494B (resized).jpeg
776AFF11-215C-406F-A3F2-D465C97DEF51 (resized).jpeg
8165F1C2-CB1F-4CDE-BC36-B4C1C4AA12C3 (resized).jpeg
0EBF293F-9F19-4567-8B56-26F742452524 (resized).jpeg
A284566B-1D29-469A-94F7-7D2376B7BF43 (resized).jpeg
78BFB15A-D9AB-42F5-B48D-DAA3F8E1FEB5 (resized).jpeg

#1 7 months ago

Hello, let me start by saying I am a complete novice, but very adapt at fixing and repairing things. Having said that, I have a captain fantastic, Bally 1976 pinball machine that I grew up playing and has been sitting in my parents basement. I have just begun to really look into and become familiar with the inner workings, and am looking for any advice or guidance that anyone may have in figuring out if this machine can be restored, and if I can even find replacement parts. A bit about the machine. I plugged it in and a few lights still work. It has not been used in well over ten years. All the electrical components (when I opened the case) show signs of corrosion and need a complete cleaning. There is also, not sure the best way to explain it, but a faint “electrical smell”, not plugged in. The case, back unit, and the game play area show some wear but are all in great shape. Bumpers have dry rotted a bit, but that stuff I figure I can replace. My biggest question to start is, can replace parts such as the transformer, and other mechanics be purchased so that I can restore it to the original functionality. Thanks in advance for any advice, direction, or guidance anyone can give me.