(Topic ID: 198902)

Can/should I disable match on Gottlieb Sky Jump Wedgehead?

By fotoboy

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 23 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by EMsInKC
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

full score (resized).JPG
GTB_AS_Relay (resized).JPG

#1 1 year ago

Hi, Im new to Gottlieb, and was wondering if there are any benefits to disconnecting the match function on my 74 Sky Jump. It is for home play, and matching just makes noise. I saw the way it is setup on the score reels and couldnt help but think that the score reels may run smoother without all that stuff. (unless, that is "mission critical" stuff that it cant live without) Thoughts??

#2 1 year ago

I just found the knocker on my Mousin Around and unplugged it. You still get the free credit but don't hear the loud noise. I do like the sound but it's too loud with people living around me.

Can you find yours?

#3 1 year ago
Quoted from fotoboy:

Hi, Im new to Gottlieb, and was wondering if there are any benefits to disconnecting the match function on my 74 Sky Jump. It is for home play, and matching just makes noise. I saw the way it is setup on the score reels and couldnt help but think that the score reels may run smoother without all that stuff. (unless, that is "mission critical" stuff that it cant live without) Thoughts??

If you don't like the noise, you can unplug the match unit, which is an AS relay connected in the lightbox by jones plugs. See picture below. Easier yet, just unplug all the single-ended plugs for the high score settings.

I don't recommend tampering with the score reel to remove the wiper or its fingers. If the reel is not operating crisply, it needs to be cleaned and rehabilitated.

My recommendation is to embrace the match feature. Getting a match is the cherry on top after a good game. Enjoy it.

AS Relay

#4 1 year ago