5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Erik
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 5 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

image-379.jpg
    image-576.jpg
    bangkok-wires-nurmi.jpg
    image-475.jpg
    image-157.jpg

#1 5 years ago

I'm still a noob so apologies if this is a dumb question. I have several mods running off several 5v/12v splitters inside my cabinet. Let's see, there's the under cabinet kit, MDM video mod, speaker lights, led flipper buttons and the apron flasher mod. Point is, it seems like a lot of mods basically running off one connection through all those splitters. Could I fry something if I add another one?

image-157.jpg
    image-475.jpg

#2 5 years ago

I would think that you'll know if you pull too much current, the fuse will blow. You could try to sum the current needs for all your devices and see how much "room" you have, but I'd probably just go with waiting to see if a fuse pops.

#3 5 years ago

Hmm no fuses blown yet so full speed ahead!!!

#4 5 years ago

I think you're okay, especially since (I'm assuming) you're modding an IM - a recent title. They actually make 1-to-8 splitter boards for Stern because of people like you and me. I got one for LOTR, and have used about half of the inputs on it. Remember that voltage is voltage - as long as the mods you have aren't mechanical things that are going to draw a lot of power from your system (watch for dimming lights when mechanical stuff fires up!), then you're golden.

#5 5 years ago

It's probably not a good idea to daisy chain splitters, get a multi out ,DK Pinball makes one w/ 8 outputs. I'm headed out the door at the moment maybe some one can provide you w/ a link to the DK part.

#6 5 years ago

just makes it look ridiculous. =D

#7 5 years ago
    Quoted from moto_cat: