Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by pinkid
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

Im new to Pinball restoration but recently acquired a 1968 Williams Doozie Machine. Replaced some burned out coils and cleaned all the switches. However, the lock relay, and the 'Match unit' solenoids continuously buzz (jammed on) when a game is started. When a kick bumper is activated, these solenoids also continuously buzz once activated. I have to turn the machine off before they over heat. Everything else, score board, pop caps, flippers etc seem to work fine.

There is a bridge rectifier that looks like it has been added on more recently. I don't know what this is for but I heard that buzzing coils could be due to receiving the wrong current so don't know if this is the place to look?

I have run out of ideas, would be very grateful if anybody might know what could be the cause?

#2 8 years ago

The last time I had a buzzing relay like that it turned out to be a weak activator plate spring. I don't know if that is specifically the cause in your case, but might be worth looking into if any others agree.

#3 8 years ago

Normal for Lock to buzz. It stays energized as long as the machine does. The plates usually are worn underneath where it makes contact. The match unit is a different deal and something is holding it ON. Time to dig out the schematics and see what tells it to energize.

#4 8 years ago

Thanks for your replies.

It turns out the rectifier was added for some sort of free-play mod so nothing to do with the problem.

I was aware the lock relay is always driven but the buzz is considerably, unavoidably loud that cant be normal. I have disconnected this coil and closed the switches to get around the issue.

The match unit relay buzzes very loudly as soon as a game is started and after the score reel has reset to zero.

The left and right kickers wont stop buzzing after activation.