(Topic ID: 96837)

Buy to play or buy to restore (then play)

By Noobee

9 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 52 posts
  • 25 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by newmantjn
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20140710_004435.jpg
    20140617_232648.jpg
    20140705_051336.jpg
    20140615_074912.jpg
    20140617_203250.jpg
    image-324.jpg
    image-893.jpg
    image-654.jpg
    image-553.jpg
    image-168.jpg
    image-159.jpg
    There are 52 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 9 years ago

I am new to this hobby and get great pleasure out of fixing the games. I get such satisfaction out of looking at the finished result then looking back at the "before" pictures. And of course being able to play a game that was not playable when I first got it.

I am wondering about others. Do you look for games that are fixer uppers first? Or do you look for games that are playable for a good price?

Or perhaps is it just about collecting and damn the cost?

What category are you in? What are your price points for games? How do you decide which games to go for?

Just curious what peoples motivations are when it comes to this addicting hobby...

#2 9 years ago

I buy games to do major restorations on and after they are done they are like artwork Sitting around the house as if they came with it. I love to do a lot of plating and make them like new after that don't play them much on to the next restoration

#3 9 years ago

My favorite is finding a very dirty, non-working machine. It needs to have a decent condition playfield as I have not tackled that aspect of restoration yet and not sure that part is for me...

When it is all cleaned up, hacks removed and working properly, I'm a little disappointed that its over.... is that wrong???

#4 9 years ago