(Topic ID: 305682)

SOLVED: BSD multiple problems (slam tilt, ramp up error, magnet error, etc)

By JLebowski

2 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screenshot_20211214-070419_Samsung Internet (resized).jpg
IMG_20211212_102811 (resized).jpg
IMG_20211212_102850 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

SOLVED: It was a misaligned ribbon cable on the MPU board. I feel so dumb. Thank you all!

Original post: I'm trying to extricate my BSD from a slew of problems the past 2 years. I'd appreciate any guidance you fine folks might offer. I'm not an engineer, but motivated to learn!

Problems start on boot up, the machine displays "Slam Tilt Switch Is Stuck Closed". I've checked both of the slam tilts on the coin door and the floor of cabinet, they are fine and operate normally on switch tests. I checked the door switch, it also operates normally and I even changed it out with my LOTR door switch, so it works fine in that machine. I notice on switch testing that the door switch closes both the door AND slam tilt switches, which seems odd and likely not normal. I do not know why.

Next, after the slam tilt stuck closed display, on opening the coin door it prompts a test report. It lists: Left magnet error, Right magnet error, and a Top Right ramp up error. In addition, there is no GI, no flashers, and no solenoids that fire. The exception is the flippers, which function normally.
- running through the solenoid and GI tests results in no action or lights at all on the table.

I have checked fuses and read them with a DMM, reseated the edge connectors, and even tested the voltages at the solenoid coils (they are reading +73v or +55v depending on the coil, I'm assuming this is nominal voltage?). In addition, LED #3 is always on on the power driver board, which I read in the manual is supposed to be off. I am not sure of the significance of this...