Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20140128_102524.jpg
20140128_102515.jpg
DSCF2116.JPG
20140128_080924.jpg
20140128_081043.jpg
bopmotor.JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider TheRingMaster.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 10 years ago

Hi!

I have started to disassemble my bride of pinbot to clean it really good and replace broken or questionable parts.

I noted that on the head motor there is black dust. I also imagine it sounds a bit loud (does not know what it should sound like since its my first time playing the machine), like not "oiled" up. Like the gears and stuff in the gear box are completely dry and suffering a lot of wear. However it works fine but i wonder for how long.

The question is, first of all. Should there be some kind of grease on the gears in the gear box?
Generally in pinball terms grease and oil is kinda forbidden..

Second, would it be a good idea to change the motor for a new one while having the game apart...
Im thinking that maybe the coals inside it would need to be changed or the whole motor replaced to prevent it from breaking down anytime soon.

It looks like an ordinary hobby motor of some sort but does anyone know the specs for it, like amps and volts and stuff. I mean would it be possible to buy some standard hobby motor and replace it with or do i need to buy an expensive original motor?

Andy

bopmotor.JPGbopmotor.JPG

4 months later
#15 10 years ago

Hi there!

Im not good at looking at my activity and favourite threads but many thanks for the last posts explaining about the motor and gear box! It will come in handy once i get to fixing it. Painting the cab atm so still some work before the fine tuning.

Andy

2 years later
#16 8 years ago

Took while but a few days ago I took the gearbox apart and cleaned it up. Was needed...