Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Billc479
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

bobby_orr issue alley (resized).png

#1 1 year ago

I just picked up a Bobby Orr Power Play. Overall the game is in decent shape. A couple questions (I'm a noob).

When the ball rolls over the stars in the upper alley, whether the stars are lit or not, there is no sound emitted. I don't think this is right.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Bobby Orr's Power Play

bobby_orr issue alley (resized).png

#2 1 year ago

Does the machine score points when you run your fingers over the star rollovers?

#3 1 year ago

I have to press with a bit of authority on the stars for them to trigger points. Rolling the ball over them rarely gets them to score.

When I press with my fingers and I see the points increment, still no sound.

#4 1 year ago

Run a solenoid test and make sure each chime is firing. Next is run a switch test and press each star and see if they register. If you have a manual, it will walk you through the steps.

#5 1 year ago

Do you know how to place the machine into self-test mode? Perhaps the solenoid that triggers the sound chime is bad. Perhaps a wire is disconnected from the solenoid. Or, it could be the transistor on the solenoid driver board that controls the chime solenoid. Lastly, it could be a connector issue on the solenoid driver board.

#6 1 year ago

thanks vdojaq and BallyPinWiz! I just downloaded a copy of the manual. I'll run through those steps and circle back tomorrow!

#7 1 year ago

So...Solenoid test revealed solenoid 7 is bad (there was no sound during this part of the test). The manual says this is "chime 1000". So I think I have my answer as to why sound does not emit when the ball rolls over the stars.

Now I just have to figure out how to repair / replace the solenoid.

#8 1 year ago