13 years ago

Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 13 years ago by NoVArcade
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 13 years ago

Do a Majority of You Guys Do Your Own Board Repair Soldering in New Components? Ive Have a Little Backround in Soldering Boards from High School, I Know Its Not Rocket Science, Plus Im a Plumber so I Solder Pipes! Ill Just Take My Accectalyne Torch to The Thing! Im Kidding... Anywho Debating If I Should Invest Some Money Into a Nice Solder Gun. Or Pay A Profesional to Do It, Im Hopping My Friend from High School Will Do The Work if I Pay Him a Little Money a Few Beers and Couple Games on the Pin =)

#2 13 years ago

I do my own. I bought a digitally temp controlled solder station and a Hakko 808. If you have any amount of work to do or plan on messing around with pins for a while the stuff will more than pay for itself.

I bought this station.
    http://www.ntscope.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=MTC&Product_Code=AT201D
    It is the same one that Radio Shack sells but you are buying it direct from the manufacturer. Plus you can buy different tips and replacement tips from Madell. RS doesn't stock them.

BTW, you don't want a soldering gun for board work. They are fine for soldering in coils and stand up targets but not much else on pins.

Edit: It is the Hakko 808. I incorrectly called it the 880 previously.

#3 13 years ago

If you're not comfortable doing the soldering your self and you have someone else who can do it, invest in the beer

Soldering components on is easy enough (although, it can be messed up), but removing the old components is the tricky part. If you don't know what your doing, you can damage the board pretty easily.