(Topic ID: 307643)

Blast off relay questions

By thephoneman

2 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

Hello everyone. I have a classic Williams blast off and have a few questions and I hope this is the right forum. I've been tweaking a few relays to get the have to function properly (most on the motor wheel) but I'm having issues with the bumpers switching when they are hit. If I manually trigger them I can eventually get them to switch, so I'm thinking dirty contact. Only issue is where to start looking. I'm not good at reading schematics especially finding the spot on the machine. To give more specifics, if you are looking at the 4 relays the top left and bottom right ones is where the issue is. The other 2 switch right away. Any help is appreciated.

#2 2 years ago
Quoted from thephoneman:

I'm having issues with the bumpers switching when they are hit.

Do you mean the lights and values of the pop bumpers aren't changing?

I don't have a Blast Off schematic but there's an Apollo schematic on IPDB.org that might be similar. On Apollo the lights and values of the pop bumpers are determined by the Change relay. When the Change relay is active one set of pop bumpers is lit. When it is idle the other set of pop bumpers is lit.

The Change relay is driven by the Match unit; every other step of the Match unit will activate the Change relay. The Match Unit should advance every time 1 point is scored so every time 1 point is scored the pop bumpers should switch.

Have a look at the Match unit in the back box. It should step every time 1 point is scored. If you manually push in the Match unit solenoid plunger and let it go it should step forward cleanly to the next position.

It's possible that your Match unit is sluggish and not stepping reliably. That would make the Change relay and pop bumpers toggle less often. If that's the case it probably needs to be cleaned.

/Mark

#3 2 years ago
Quoted from MarkG: