Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 16 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by loren3233
  • Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 10 years ago

I'm in the process of rebuilding a 1971 Playball and have read posts where folks polish their parts in a tumbler. I'm new to part tumbling and have a few questions -

What kind of media is best to use? Can odd shaped parts like chrome chanels be polished this way? How long do you typically let the parts run through the tumbler?

Thanks!

#2 10 years ago

most people use walnut media (which is available in both course and fine), however some use corncob as well.

I've used the resin pyramid shaped media for parts that had surface rust on them to remove that and then switched the parts into another bowl with walnut media.

the size of your tumbler will dictate the # and size of the parts that you can tumble. you want to make sure that you have enough room for the parts to move freely so that the media can vibrate over every surface of the parts. if the part is too large, there's a good chance that it can damage the plastic vibratory bowl.

I typically will put in a batch of parts and let them run overnight or for a 24-hour period. if the parts look like they need more tumbling, I just repeat and run them for another 12-24 hours

#3 10 years ago

Walnut is a good choice, it can be found cheap at a pet store (reptile or bird bedding) or crushed corn cob works well too just longer to tumble and shorter life. Also, you'll want to pick up some FLITZ tumbling polish, great stuff. Time is all a matter of how dirty the parts are, it could take from 24 hours to 3 days, you can't over tumble. Set up in garage turn on at bed time and forget about it.

#4 10 years ago

Does anyone happen to know where to get a good tumbler in Canada?

Sorry for the hijack, this thread just reminded me that I'd like to get one.

#5 10 years ago