6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 41 posts
  • 21 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

image.jpg

#1 6 years ago

Hey team- I was offered some great advice from this site and thought I'd give a little back. While pinball repair is not my specialty, I've been making furniture for about 40 years now. I just did an overhaul on my Gottlieb Pioneer. It's original and in great shape. For waxing the playfield I used three coats. Coat 1: Johnson's paste wax or butchers wax. This a "soft" wax that goes on easy but does require a little elbow grease to buff it out. For the final two coats I use Collonit IW-845. This is almost 100% carnauba wax. It is super hard and much more durable than the butchers type, and it will last much longer. The beauty is that it goes on like butter and requires about 1/10 of the elbow grease to buff it off. It also fills all those microscopic hairline cracks in the playfiled. Guaranteed that your ball will hit the glass. I dropped a pyramid lane guide on the table and it slid all the way down! Also, for you car buffs, this is the wax to use. Once every 6 months and it will withstand all the car washes you can give it. Water beads and sheets like you've never known before. You can get this stuff on the web at autogeek or a place like that. If you try it, I guarantee you'll never use anything else again.

#2 6 years ago