You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pin2 (resized).jpg
image-8 (resized).jpg
image-4 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

Recently picked up my very first pin. It's a Bally Big Show from 1974. Apparently, one of the previous owners had begun a cosmetic restoration and never finished. So I am left with a backbox with no side art and missing apron art. I am new to this hobby and I have no idea where to get replacement artwork. Anyone have any suggestions? I have included pictures of the artwork I'm missing. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would be very grateful. Also like to add that I believe the artwork from a Bally Circus machine would also work. It is a 4 player version of the Big Show but the art I need seems to look the same.

image-4 (resized).jpgimage-4 (resized).jpgimage-8 (resized).jpgimage-8 (resized).jpg

#2 2 years ago

Photos of your current situation? Is the artwork sanded off or painted over? Sometimes painted-over artwork can be recovered with latex remover.

Your best bet is a friendly collector with a scanner. Try to contact other owners on pinside; and failing that, pinballowners.com. You may also be able to use a good head-on photo.

The apron is tougher, but could be re-created from a scan using a Silhouette Cameo cutter and airbrush; or dry rub-on transfers.

I had success laser-cutting stencils out of 1/8" MDF. You want rigid stencils to get that soft overspray look on the artwork.

You'll also need an airbrush, spray gun or get good with a toothbrush to recreate the splatter effect.

I'm into this kind of work, restoration is half the fun for me, but it's not everyone's cup of tea.

#3 2 years ago