(Topic ID: 71005)

Best LEDs in darker lighting???

By kray37

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 10 years ago

Hi guys, I am new to the LED seen, well not really but I havent used very many, and would like some advice to those of you that have used lots of LEDs before making a huge purchase as a bulk buy for 44/47s and 555s.

I have a new gameroom that has "ambient" lighting from just neons on the walls above pins. I didn't want to put anything else but neons in the gameroom, but it seems like all of the pins are a bit hard to see(little too dark I think) and look "yellowish" without LEDs in the backglass, inserts, and/or GIs. I could install more lighting but would rather install LEDs for obvious reasons. I would prefer to get rid of the yellow look to games really, which means doing them all, not just a couple.

I would like to preserve the games, more importantly the playfields and such, from heat related or yellowing anything further. I have over 25 pins in the arcade that I would like to convert, at least some parts of the pin, onto LEDs. I've seen several diff companies that promote their styles of 44/47s and 555s, but not sure what would be best. I had a BK2K that I bought a kit for BITD when LEDs just came out, it was perty but man could you lose the ball easily!!! It was way too bright! I'm sure this has been covered many times but threads get old with new manufacturers out there.

What is the best/cost efficient LED for GIs, inserts, backglass, etc. for the low amount of lighting that I will have without blinding one's eyes trying to see the ball fly?

Thanks in advance!

#2 10 years ago

i prefer color-matched superbrights for inserts.

for GI, it sounds like you want "cool white". "warm white" gives that yellow tint you don't like -- one affect of cool white is the pins will look less "old fashioned", but it's all personal preference there. some prefer warm, some cool. depends on the pin for me.