(Topic ID: 84084)

Best Black for touch-ups?

By NYP

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 10 years ago

Mainly talking about the 90's WPC games. Been trying a few different blacks over the years and none seem to be a perfect match. I go through great lengths to match all the other colors but can't seem to find a perfect match for basic black, it's either too light or just a little off. I've tried liquitex black, createx black and am looking for a good latex in the bottle black. For out of the can paints I've tried painters touch, benjamin moore and just about every brand I could think of over the years. Most are close enough but don't seem 'black' enough, anyone have a good match?

#2 10 years ago

In automotive painting I've found that adding a a dark blue or purple to black it seems "blacker".

#3 10 years ago

Most of the time I use Folk Art "Shiny" black with good results.

#4 10 years ago

I'm a painter by trade. Remember, when EVER you touch something up. it's never going to blend in and look the same because you are putting new paint on top of old paint. This is true even if you bought a gallon of paint to paint a wall in your home. Then, 6 months later, there's a chip or scratch that you touch up with the original left over paint you used. You'll still see the touch up. And this is especially true for paints with a sheen or gloss in them. The higher the gloss/sheen, the more visible the touch up.