• Latest reply 8 years ago by chuckwurt
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Pinball_Pinball_Pinball.jpg
#1 8 years ago

I am a newer pinballer and I am looking to get people more involved in my area. There are not a lot of places that have more than one machine in town so I am thinking of hosting a tournament on one machine at a local bar to get things rolling. I am by no means an expert and I don't think there will be any there but just trying to show people how fun pinball is.

What I am wondering is some different tournament styles I could use to keep everyone involved that would participate but also not keep everyone there all night. There could be as few as 8 people there but also want to be prepared for as many as 20. The options I am familiar with are best of 7 and best of 3 bracket style but if anyone has any good 4 person game options or anything unique let me know what they are.

I appreciate any advice given and good balls to you all.

#2 8 years ago

You can have a few machines, randomly assigned groups of 4 play each machine. Then award points on finish places;
1-7, 2-5, 3-3, 4-1.
If you wait till all games are done, then random draw for each machine and everyone is a beginner, then it's pretty even and pretty quick I would guess. If you wanted to have the top 4 overall then go play a game for overall winner or whatever you could for a tournament style

#3 8 years ago

Hey Mark! Glad you are doing this to spread pinball awareness in Lexington.

Quoted from TheLaw:

You can have a few machines, randomly assigned groups of 4 play each machine. Then award points on finish places;
1-7, 2-5, 3-3, 4-1.

The place he wants to have the tournament only has one game DM. I have heard that you can have IFPA tournaments with only one game. I think he was looking to start with a non-ranked one, see how it goes, then maybe have ranked tournaments in the future.

#4 8 years ago