Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20200328_075402 (resized).jpg
20200309_195652 (resized).jpg
20200309_195643 (resized).jpg
20200309_195634 (resized).jpg
20200309_195609 (resized).jpg

#1 4 years ago

I'm still pretty new to repairs as this is my first pin.

Last night I decided to replace the batteries on my data east LAH and after doing so upon rebooting them machine it will not remember setting changes.

I noticed a little corrosion on the battery holder and after scraping around the a little bit and putting them back in I did get it to remember changes again, but alas that didnt last long.

I've done some research and now plan to purchase NVRAM to remove the need for batteries all together, but I'm left with a couple questions I am not clear on.

First, do I still need to remove the corrosion on the battery holder or is it easy/possible to remove it all together? If I do can I clean it with the board still in the game?

Secondly, I dont really think the corrosion was that bad and I looked over the board and it doesn't seem (to me) like there is corrosion elsewhere that needs to be addressed, but can someone experience look at some photos I took and tell me if there in fact is more corrosion that needs to be addressed?

Last, is the NVRAM installation sure to resolve my issue or could there potentially be other issues? Is there any particular brands of NVRAM youd recommend avoiding?

Thank you in advance.

20200309_195609 (resized).jpg20200309_195609 (resized).jpg20200309_195634 (resized).jpg20200309_195634 (resized).jpg20200309_195643 (resized).jpg20200309_195643 (resized).jpg20200309_195652 (resized).jpg20200309_195652 (resized).jpg
#2 4 years ago
Quoted from BroMan90:

Last, is the NVRAM installation sure to resolve my issue or could there potentially be other issues? Is there any particular brands of NVRAM youd recommend avoiding?