(Topic ID: 276915)

Bally switch doing opposite as should - but I'm a newbie.....

By Bandit78

3 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

switch 2 (resized).jpg
switch 1 (resized).jpg
#1 3 years ago

On KISS, the K target switch seem to be closed when the target has not closed the circuit. There is sufficient space between the contacts it appears. During idle the light is out of sync with the rest with erratic lighting going on/off. When I push the K target, it then syncs up with the ISS target lites.

During games an almost constant scoring occurs until I push the target...then it stops and the machine plays as normal. I've run the diagnostic test and it comes back with switch 20 being closed (K target), whether the target is pushed in or not.

Just when I think I understand a little something about how switches work, then this happens...,

#2 3 years ago

Did you replace the switch ? If so did you wire it right ?

If problem just started. Then something shorting switch lugs, across the fiber board spacers between the leaf blades, or an issue out on your switch matrix.

LTG : )

#3 3 years ago

I didn't replace the switch. The first pix is the switch that has the false closed signal and the second one is switch that has no problem. When I first tested the machine I had none of these anomalies and the switch test came up clean, but over that last week the problem has went from almost never to just about continuous false closed signal/scoring/activating.

switch 1 (resized).jpgswitch 1 (resized).jpgswitch 2 (resized).jpgswitch 2 (resized).jpg

#4 3 years ago

Try removing the capacitor on it (green blob). Could have gone bad.

Also, are you sure part of this isn't a lamp issue? Does the light work fine in the lamp test?

#5 3 years ago

During the lamp test, the light is in perfect sync.