Bally special forces shows game over but won't accept credits

By Gmwd

8 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

Hello,
I'm totally new to pinball and have acquired my first machine. It's a Bally special forces I think I got a good deal at 150.00. The machine turns on lights up and shows game over, but when I insert a quarter nothing happens? By this I mean the game still shows game over with no credits displayed. I'm not sure where to go from here, I have checked all the fuses I can find and they are all good. When I press The test button it's showing switches are closed? It says to press test button again to exit the menu but this does does nothing. I am technical (mechanically) by trade and have understanding of dmm but not so much the electrical side. Could someone please help me out?
Thanks
Geof

#2 8 years ago

Update to this, I found some stuck switches did some cleaning and now when I start the machine weapon dt flashes on the screen. Also as far as I can tell the solenoid so don't fire (flippers) so I'm assuming they won't engage without credits in the machine?( still won't register credits when the switches are tripped)

#3 8 years ago

look in the manual, and you will need to do a factory reset. The ram is corrupted because the battery is missing/dead.

3 years later
#4 4 years ago

I know this is an old thread but in the menu there's an option to set "maximum credits allowed" I believe it's called, and if that's at the 0 default (where it goes after factory reset) then it won't accept any credits and it won't even allow a game to start on free play.

Promoted items from Pinside Marketplace and Pinside Shops!
Playfield - Other
Rocket City Pinball

$ 18.95
Eproms
Pinballrom

$ 36.95
Eproms
Pinballrom

$ 32.00
Electronics
Yorktown Arcade Supply

$ 22.50
Magazines/books
Pinball Magazine

Wanna join the discussion? Please sign in to reply to this topic.

Hey there! Welcome to Pinside!

Donate to Pinside