Topic Stats

• 20 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by FrankyP
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

Apologies in advance I am new to EM's and trying to sort out a strange problem. My bally Nip-it will advance bonus properly on step up unit during play and test but will never collect the bonus add to the score and reset. The ball is just kicked back out but the ball counter advances. I have looked at the schematics it seemed outhole switch, ball 2 relay - not sure what even closes this one is this just the swich from ball trough? and score bonus relay to score the bonus are needed. If I manually lift play field and engage those all it seems to score the bonus. Not sure which would reset but I do know that it will reset.

To add to this I found two fuse holders under playfield both seemed to be corroded and I changed both. After this voila! My bonus was scoring just fine last night on each drain and resetting for each upcoming ball. Today go back to my assumed fixed game and I am right back where I started with issue in first paragraph. My question is what are those 2 fuses for and if the fuse holder and fuse are known good why would this have failed again? OR am I totally off base and this is a scoring motor switch thing?

#2 5 years ago
Quoted from FrankyP:

but will never collect the bonus add to the score

What's the Bonus Score relay doing when this happens?

#3 5 years ago

I'd first do a continuity test on the new fuses and the fuse blocks where you replaced the two fuses. You'd need to remove one of the wires from each fuse location to get the correct continuity reading on the fuse blocks, but it's easy to do. Reseat the "good" fuses in the fuse blocks, remove one wire from the fuse block, place your multi-meter test probes on each side of the fuse block and observe the ohms reading.