Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20210321_133831 (resized).jpg
20210321_133906 (resized).jpg
20210321_133838 (resized).jpg
#1 3 years ago

Hello,
I'm very new to the pin ball world and I'm completely getting sucked into it. Lol. I picked up a Bally Hokus Pokus a few months ago and my father in law and I have been messing with it. We've gotten some gremlins worked out, but now when starting a game the ball kicker will constantly keep activating. The only way we can get it to stop is to add a bonus to the machine then it will stop. Then once it drains in the outhole the same problem occurs. There was 2 yellow wires where the solder broke on the bonus unit and I was hoping that was it. However we soldered them back on and still nothing. We've cleaned up the switches but still nothing. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks again, and like I've said I'm very new to all of this, so please excuse me in advance if I ask any dumb questions. Lol. Attached is a few pictures of the wires we soldered back on.

20210321_133831 (resized).jpg20210321_133831 (resized).jpg20210321_133838 (resized).jpg20210321_133838 (resized).jpg20210321_133906 (resized).jpg20210321_133906 (resized).jpg
#2 3 years ago

The bonus unit counts down to zero when the ball drains. When the bonus unit reaches zero, a switch on the bonus unit closes to energize the outhole relay. That causes the kicker to kick the ball out.

The bonus unit is supposed to step up to 1000 points when the ball is kicked out to the shooter. Since your bonus unit isn't stepping up (that is, the bonus unit is stuck at zero) the outhole relay stays energized and the kicker just keeps on kicking. That's why the problem stops when you manually step up the bonus. You are doing by hand what the machine is supposed to be doing automatically.