Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by jburas7
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

Hello all. I am very new to this so please take it easy on me. I picked up 2 machines from someone a while back and im just getting around to working on them. I have a Stern Stars which i got working recently with the help of a local pinball repairman but id like to get the future spa working on my own. I had to purchase the Alltek MPU board. I got that in and replaced almost all of the connectors ( im waiting on a shipment to complete the rest). The machine turns on. I can put a quarter in and start a game. And in test mode all but 3 Coils fire. But when i play none of the coils work (they will not fire or register any points). I am very new at this and i have some basic understanding of electronics but i cant seem to figure it out. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Ive already checked all of my fuses and the ohms of each coil. Thanks!

#2 6 years ago

So in test mode... they cycle through each and fire?

Probably want to check the connector between the MPU and the Solenoid driver board (big board to the right of it). That's J4 on each board... that's how the CPU tells the SDB which coil to fire comes over those pins. Then J2 and J5 on the SDB are the harness to the coils.. mainly J5 for playfield stuff.

Is your Alltek jumpered correctly?
Do you have 43VDC at your coil lugs?

I'm not really familar with the delta between test mode and game... but the driver circuit is pretty simple. Data lines from MPU come in on J4 go through a decoder... then to the transistors.. to the J2 or J5 connectors.

Use pinwiki and check the basics.. like your test voltages on the SDB, and read the coil logic stuff.

#3 6 years ago

I would go into switch test and verify every switch works.