New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 279594)

Bally firecracker issues

By Egress

4 days ago

Topic Stats

• 22 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 day ago by Egress
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

0Firecracker-Work-02 (resized).jpg

#1 4 days ago

Hi all, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to pinball repair. I own a bally firecracker and it's been having some issues. the main issue is that it sometimes will not count balls properly, but in addition to this the "alternating relay" doesnt seem to work, and neither does the free game target. if any of you have experience repairing this game, i would love the guidance. I do have the full schematic, and other documentation as well.

#2 4 days ago

Hi egress , Welcome to pinside!!

Quoted from Egress:

"alternating relay" doesnt seem to work

The Alternator relay should be energized when the 00-90 Stepper unit is on an even number. Is that stepper unit working?

Quoted from Egress:

neither does the free game target

I don't see a free game target on the schematic. Where is it? Does it have a light that activates it?

#3 4 days ago

the stepper unit is working properly, and the match feature works too. the alternator relay will intermittently flick on and off and sometimes makes a buzzy/arcing noise. it never stays on however, so the yellow pop bumper is the only one that gets lit most of the time.

its not a free game target, i typed the wrong thing... It's a free ball target. I actually got it to come on by cleaning the 00-90 unit with some q-tips and rubbing alcohol.

another issue has popped up however. How long is the "delay relay" supposed to delay? it doesnt look like its delaying at all.

#4 4 days ago