• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG952018102095120541760.jpg
Untitled (resized).png
#1 5 years ago

A few years back, I rebuilt a Bally Eight Ball for a friend, and it's been working perfectly.

...until he moved it to another building. Somewhere in the moving and the plugging and unplugging...

All the GI bulbs on the playfield are blown; putting a new bulb in gets a bright flash, and a blown bulb. All the GI in the backbox is fine.

The _reverse_ is true of the switched lights - everything works fine on the playfield, but all the backbox lights are blown, and the sockets deadly to new bulbs.

All the coils work fine, and the game starts and plays normally. I'd troubleshoot this myself, but the machine's 500 miles away; I had time only for a quick look while I was there, and nothing jumped out at me. My friend's not a complete novice, but can't figure it on his own. Anyone have an idea where to start? TIA!

#2 5 years ago
Quoted from JWJr:

A few years back, I rebuilt a Bally Eight Ball for a friend, and it's been working perfectly.
...until he moved it to another building. Somewhere in the moving and the plugging and unplugging...
All the GI bulbs on the playfield are blown; putting a new bulb in gets a bright flash, and a blown bulb. All the GI in the backbox is fine.
The reverse_ is true of the switched lights - everything works fine on the playfield, but all the backbox lights are blown, and the sockets deadly to new bulbs.
All the coils work fine, and the game starts and plays normally. I'd troubleshoot this myself, but the machine's 500 miles away; I had time only for a quick look while I was there, and nothing jumped out at me. My friend's not a complete novice, but can't figure it on his own. Anyone have an idea where to start? TIA!

rectifier board j1 plugged in wrong sending 43v to the GI lamps on PF?

Untitled (resized).pngUntitled (resized).png

#3 5 years ago