You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image-933.jpg
image-779.jpg
image.jpg
#1 9 years ago

I am having some difficulty sorting out a lighting issue with a Bally Eight Ball. All of the playfield GI lights work 100%. The billiard balls, special playfield scoring lights and player 1, 2 etc. do not light up. Everything scores correctly. Could this be a fuse?

I am somewhat new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 9 years ago

Likely not a fuse. My first course of action would be to assess the connectors in the back box. With the game on and the back box door open, gently torque the various connectors on the MPU and the Solenoid driver board. If this causes changes, indicates the board connections are corroded and likely in need of rebuild.

#3 9 years ago

Verify the lamps are OK.
Player 1 ....... should have 5v on J2-16 from Q5a ( When selected)
Player2.......... " " ' J2-20 " Q18a "
Special( outlane special ?) " J3-23 " Q37a
*** see lamp driver schematic
John

#4 9 years ago

Check the connectors on the lamp driver board, bottom left board.

#5 9 years ago

Thanks for all of the help, guys. I torqued the connectors on the lamp driver board as well as removed and replaced them with no success. I will check the schematic and verify the voltages over the few days hopefully.

#6 9 years ago

You probably have numerous transistors out on your lamp driver board.

#7 9 years ago
Quoted from budfrog80:

All of the playfield GI lights work 100%. The billiard balls, special playfield scoring lights and player 1, 2 etc. do not light up. Everything scores correctly. Could this be a fuse?

Check fuse F1 on the little board above the transformer.

Your #1 rectifier may be out too.

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/vids-guide-quick-bally-driver-board-repair-bulletproofing/page/2#post-2113931

1 month later
#8 9 years ago