Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by sbmania
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

Hello I’m super new to SS repair . My background is basically all EM. On a Bally Dolly , I’m having some issues tied to bad connectors . Outside of the obvious burnt connectors , I’m getting flickering/ out displays that seem to get better when jiggling the connectors etc. so I’m going to take my first crack and redoing the connectors . My question is , are there any kits you’d recommend that will contain everything I need for this project ? And also are there any videos you’d recommend as a tutorial ? Lastly should I replace original rectifier or just leave as is ? I have very very limited solder skills .

#2 3 years ago

Bally’s of this era are known for connector issues. Basically, you should repin all connectors, male and female.

Great Plains Electronics is a good source for pins and connectors.

Do a search on Pinside or Utube on crimping pins and replacing connectors on Bally circuit boards.

Just replacing all the boards with new ones will not take care of the problem - you will need to replace the pins in the connectors. Unless you send out the wiring harness, you will have to learn how to do this. It’s not hard if you have the right equipment - just tedious.

#3 3 years ago

For every Bally I have owned, I have rebuilt the power supply and re-pinned the connectors and plugs on at least the Solenoid Driver board and the MPU. The life of these pins is basically 25 times unplugged. I usually only do the light driver board if there are apparent problems. Do these things and they are basically bullet proof.

#4 3 years ago

With Bally SS games you need to learn how to solder.
95% are bad solder joints at the print headers on the boards.
Like you say about the displays.
Reflow the solder on the print header and they will most likely be fine.