(Topic ID: 143945)

Bally Captain Fantastic Playfield Power

By tmeinc5

8 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

#1 8 years ago

Game is a 1976 Bally Captain Fantastic purchased not working. All lights work, but no functions on the playfield work (all are DC powered. I'm not a newbie, having successfully restored three other EMs, but this one has me stumped. I had no voltage at the rectifier so I put in a new one. I now get about 6 VDC at the rectifier but no AC, at the rectifier or anywhere else on the playfield except the lights. All switches have been cleaned and no shorted coils have been found. All fuses have been checked with an ohm meter. Machine is set to free play. When the door button is pushed, the reset relay activates, the score motor runs and the score reels (if manually advanced) return to zero. But that's it. Nothing else works. I'm about ready to start tracing the 50+ VAC I get in the box but I'm hoping that someone can give me a narrower target to shoot for.

#2 8 years ago

Do you have the schematic? I don't have that pin, but would guess you have a switch on the scoremotor, or a game over relay, tilt relay, start relay, maybe that passes power to the playfield?

#3 8 years ago

Yes, I have the schematic. I've been working on it all morning. I've narrowed the problem to somewhere in the reset relay and/or the game over trip and latch relays. If I hold a couple of switches closed on the reset and latch relays and hit the start button, the flippers work but the trip relay doesn't fire to shut down the score motor. I'm checking the coil now on the trip relay. I'm not sure what is supposed to fire the trip relay because the wire colors don't agree completely with the schematic.

#4 8 years ago