IMG_2446 (resized).png
IMG_1013 (resized).jpeg
IMG_1804 (resized).jpeg
IMG_1847 (resized).jpeg
IMG_1849 (resized).jpeg
IMG_1856 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2083 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2088 (resized).jpeg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider biju.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#3048 1 year ago

Hello everyone!

I bought a project Paragon and it dies when I press the left flipper button. Please bear with me as I'm very new to the hobby and perhaps bit off a little more than I can chew.

If I'm reading this page (https://www.pinwiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=Bally/Stern#Reset_Circuit) correctly it looks like I'm likely triggering the reset circuit because the +12 Volts is dropping below 8.2/9.1 volts.

Guess:
I either have faulty diodes or the coil on one or both are bad.

What I've done so far:
I have a DMM but I'm very sorry to say I don't really understand what I'm doing here. I put it on the diode reading and tested each diode and the meter quickly would down to zero for all diodes--the left side and the right side both did the same thing and the right side is functioning "correctly" (meaning the game doesn't reset when the right flippers are pressed).

Some additional details worth mentioning:

• when the left flipper was briefly working it wouldn't stay up when the button was held. I checked the EOS switch but it looks the same as the others to me, separating when it is roughly at 75-80%.
  • the upper left flipper is completely off the link. This is because the coil sleeve seems pinched and the plunger will not go all the way up and down smoothly and I suspect it was getting stuck up. Part of me wonders if someone figured it as the culprit (as I do now) and took it apart

Next move, if this makes sense...
Replace the upper left flipper coil.

I read through this thread: (corrosion damage on the MPU)
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/paragon-dies-after-i-flip