• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

576A2EBD-D2F1-43B9-810C-A0AB97BDD595 (resized).jpeg
0B169CD9-C825-4291-965C-00050A36BB9B (resized).jpeg

#1 6 months ago

I have a Bally Amigo pinball and the right flipper is weak. It stops when it hits the ball and sometimes does not open up all the way. I think it may be the EOS switch but I’m an amateur at this. I have some video of the switch. Only minimal sparking at the right switch compared to the left switch. The working, left switch produces a green spark and the right switch produces a minimal spark that is white. Would the best way to trouble shoot be to replace the right EOS?

0B169CD9-C825-4291-965C-00050A36BB9B (resized).jpeg576A2EBD-D2F1-43B9-810C-A0AB97BDD595 (resized).jpeg
#2 6 months ago

Have you cleaned the EOS switches? Also inspect the right EOS switch contacts and see if it's pitted/uneven looking. If it is, replace it.

#3 6 months ago

Thanks! What is the best way to clean them? Would you physically remove the switch to clean it?

#4 6 months ago
Quoted from mathrocks:

Thanks! What is the best way to clean them? Would you physically remove the switch to clean it?

For most contacts on an EM, you want to use a very very light sandpaper/file/etc. I like using flexstone. No need to remove it from the game.

Since the flipper button and EOS switches have more current running through them and get used more heavily than the other switches, you can use something a little beefier like this Metal Contact File
http://www.pbresource.com/tools.html

If you're new to EMs I would read section 1, 2 and the relevant parts of section 3 on pinrepair's EM article:
http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index1.htm#top

#5 6 months ago

Definitely consider a full rebuild kit if they've never been rebuilt. Grime and worn plastic/metal parts on EMs can lead to all kinds of problems and sluggish gameplay
http://www.pbresource.com/rebuildkit.html#KT-BFLIP01

#6 6 months ago