IMG_0676 (resized).JPG
pasted_image (resized).png
Motordome 3.jpg
Motordome 2.jpg
Motordome 1.jpg
pasted_image (resized).png
IMG_6059.jpeg
IMG_6060.jpeg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider V8haha.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#365 3 years ago

My upper flipper on strange science was fine then stuck on during game play play.

Coil was super hot melted coil sleeve

Checked all EOS switches all looked good.

Replaced with a new coil worked fine for 1 day then same thing.

What could be causing the coil to lock on? Board issue?

#367 3 years ago
Quoted from Inkochnito:

No board issue, not possible.
It is just a relay on the board.
It has to be a wiring or switch problem.
Be sure the coil is wired correctly and the EOS opens when needed.
Does the EOS have a capacitor?
Maybe the cap is shorted internaly.[quoted image]

The EOS does have a capacitor.

Can it be ran without?
(Sorry I’m new to 6803 and still learning i had a roll over switch capacitor go bad. i cut it off and the switch has been working fine ever since.)

I ordered capacitors for this game but i received very very small ones to small for the switched however it was the same part number.

Anyone know a good site to buy the correct capacitors? I’ve tried looking them up on pinball life and Marco with no luck.

#371 3 years ago
Quoted from Rossc:

How about un update, whats happening, does the coil lock on still? on powerup or only when starting a game? cut 1 leg of the Cap make any difference? Check the diodes? a bad 1 can cause a lockon, A photo closeup showing flipper and EOS might help reveal (local short) the problem

So that’s the strange part. It doesn’t lock up when powering on.

I can play a game everything works then all of a sudden you look up and the top flipper is locked on. I power off immediately. Coil can’t be locked on for more then 15 seconds. Although it’s enough that it melts the coil sleeve.