You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180227_131156 (resized).jpg
000-pins5 (resized).jpg
20180218_122230_resized (resized).jpg
20180218_122220_resized (resized).jpg

There are 56 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 6 years ago

This is my first time messing with a Bally MPU.

I currently have a barakandl MPU running in my Kiss--runs with no issues. Game had all .100 connectors replaced during restoration.

The game came with the original -35 board. The game booted with the -35 board in it, with original ROMs. I didn't use this board extensively, I just confirmed that it booted, I replaced it with the barakandl board during the restore.

Original battery holder removed from the -35. Coin style battery installed, with diode.

I completed the jumpers to make the board run with two 2735 eproms at U2 and U6. I burned new ROMs using my new ROM burner, ROMs checked good by the reader. These are the ROMs from IPDB, with no patches applied. When removing U6, I noticed the legs of the original chip were black.

Upon putting the -35 into the Kiss game, I got my seven flashes. The game booted and I played a handful of games with no issues. I walked away and came back and started a game, and the machine was now displaying bizarre behavior--odd sounds, garbage numerals in the score display--but the game still played. I turned the game off and rebooted, and got no flashes, not even the startup flicker. Turning on and off would get the game to boot one time out of ten, but the game would lock up randomly.

I reseated U10/U11, the 5101 and the Roms at U2/U6. The game booted, but would show "000000" in all displays for the high score, as well as other bizarre behavior. I couldn't get the thing to lock up though.