(Topic ID: 236055)

Bally 2518-16: HV rebuild necessary if LED displays?

By dyopp21

5 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

Usually I buy the Alltek boards when restoring a machine, but I've been getting into board work more and would like to rebuild the SDB on my current project. I've got a bunch of 2518-22's from previous restores, but this current machine (Hotdoggin') has the -16.

Couple of questions (and they may be stupid, but I'm still learning).
1st- I built the Pinitech LED displays for this machine, so my assumption is I don't need to bother with the high voltage section rebuild of this board. But I want to make sure that section only drives the displays and I'm not missing something. I've removed fuse in the high voltage section of the transformer mounted rectifier board.

2nd- Is the AS-2518-22 interchangeable with the -16? This -16 has a pretty good burn on it from one of the driver transistors, but has been repaired (even though it's pretty garish looking). If I can put a 22 in place of this 16, I've got some that look really good and I'd just rebuild the 5V section of that.

As always, thanks in advance for any advice.

Yopp

#2 5 years ago
Quoted from dyopp21:

Usually I buy the Alltek boards when restoring a machine, but I've been getting into board work more and would like to rebuild the SDB on my current project. I've got a bunch of 2518-22's from previous restores, but this current machine (Hotdoggin') has the -16.
Couple of questions (and they may be stupid, but I'm still learning).
1st- I built the Pinitech LED displays for this machine, so my assumption is I don't need to bother with the high voltage section rebuild of this board. But I want to make sure that section only drives the displays and I'm not missing something. I've removed fuse in the high voltage section of the transformer mounted rectifier board.