• 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Mark-NJ
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

Williams River Boat from '64

Dumb question, perhaps...but I'm sure you all know:

Can a coil be "a little bit bad"? I'm having more & more issues with wonky score wheels: they just get hung up and don't advance. I've cleaned them, adjusted contacts, etc., but I'm still having issues. Wheels that were great yesterday are wonky today.

My experience with electrical circuits is that coils are either good or open...quite binary. But in a pinball machine, can these be "old & weak"? Could my issue(s) be as simple as worn out coils? I wouldn't think so, but I'm new to all of this. (not at all new to electrical circuits, though...)

Also, of the 4, I notice that 2 are original Williams coils with part numbers, while 2 appear to be replacements...

Thoughts?

#2 6 years ago

If the coil sleeve is worn the plunger may not travel freely even if the coil is good.
The sleeves are replaceable and cheap. Don't bother trying to clean or lubricate them.

#3 6 years ago

The sleeves do look a bit worn, no doubt. But I'm still curious if coils can be (too) weak...

#4 6 years ago

No, coils work or they don't.
Replace the sleeves.

#5 6 years ago

10-4....thanks!

The sleeves are brass, but I've read on line that plastic is better. Any truth to that? And how snugly should the solenoid's slug fit into the sleeve? Presently, it's a sloppy fit.

#6 6 years ago

Sleeves are now plastic. They used to be brass. The plunger should be just tight enough to slide freely. Coil sleeves come in different sizes, just like coils. Page 2 of the documentation available at IPDB has the coils listed as
B 26-800. Pinball Resource could sell you the proper sleeves. http://www.pbresource.com/coilwms.html

#7 6 years ago

OK...follow up question: the old sleeves are worn through in places...but they won't come out of the coils.