(Topic ID: 4347)

ATTN All New Owners and First time "fixers"

By The_Gorilla

12 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

gorilla-and-games-tgif-la-7-7-11.jpg
    beer_toast1.jpg
    #1 12 years ago

So, I bought a VERY used Big Guns this week. It was in worse shape than I thought. It is so bad that I considered turning around and selling it even at a loss rather than even trying to refurbish it. Then I thought about 2 years ago when I had the person that I bought my first pin from come over to my house to see why a drop target wasn't dropping. It was a simple loose wire. I asked him about cleaning and waxing the field...

I didn't do any of this for another year.

Now, owning my 4 - 6th pin, I have my HS2 taken apart down to the playfield. I will be replacing all of the coils and rebuilding the flippers. I try things that I have little to no experience with and even less knowledge. Yet, by getting over these fears, I realize that the worst thing that has happened is I had to ask a question to get something fixed.

So, compared to what I knew about repairing, fixing, shopping out a pinball machine just a few months ago, I feel like I have come a long way. SO....

I am NOT going to let that Big Guns go just yet, I am going to give it a shot.

And lastly SO, anyone else that is relatively new to this, I firmly believe that you can do any repair, cleaning, adjusting and adapting that you wish. It only takes time, study, patience and humility. Especially humility, for when you are stuck and need to turn to the many awesome, intelligent, insightful members that are here almost every day.

Here is a shout out to you, fellow pinsiders!

#2 12 years ago

Oops. wrong pic. Heres a toast to you all!

beer_toast1.jpgbeer_toast1.jpg

#3 12 years ago

Nice post Gorilla. Your story gives hope to us all!