(Topic ID: 300329)

Attack From Mars: harder than MM or just me?

By jonnyqtrek

2 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

So, I dabbled in Attack from Mars and Medieval Madness a bit on location, playing a round or two of AFM at Silverball NJ, and both at PBHoF.

When I saw that Arcade1up had a virtual version, I was excited to grab it. I figured this would be a great way to build up experience of AFM.

It has not been going well. AFM is constantly and unwaveringly kicking my ass. My best score is about 3 billion, and my average game time is 3-5 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, MM is going swimmingly. My games last easily twice as long (I'm still learning), generally have much better control, and a lot less frustration. I blew up all six castles for the first time a few days ago...

... While on AFM if I get even three saucers, that's a cause for celebration.

When I was lamenting this to a friend, they remarked that AFM and MM were basically the same game. This had led me for a few weeks to question my sanity, as I feel like I'm clearly failing/flailing on one but not the other.

Is it generally true that the gameplay is similar enough that I should be playing equally well/poorly on both?

#2 2 years ago
Quoted from jonnyqtrek:

So, I dabbled in Attack from Mars and Medieval Madness a bit on location, playing a round or two of AFM at Silverball NJ, and both at PBHoF.
When I saw that Arcade1up had a virtual version, I was excited to grab it. I figured this would be a great way to build up experience of AFM.
It has not been going well. AFM is constantly and unwaveringly kicking my ass. My best score is about 3 trillion, and my average game time is 3-5 minutes or so.
Meanwhile, MM is going swimmingly. My games last easily twice as long (I'm still learning), generally have much better control, and a lot less frustration. I blew up all six castles for the first time a few days ago...